last3seconds Guestbook





Comments:
I don't mind my text being there, but at the same time, it is your site. So if *you* would prefer to re-phrase the analysis into your own words, that wouldn't bother me either. Which ever feels best to you.

I enjoy the site and will continue to make return visits to it as you refine it.

Cheers!


Added: November 26, 2010
Delete this entry Reply to entry View IP address




Comments:
Technically, Belov DID travel. He moved both feet after coming down.

You're correct when you say he lands on both feet. His right foot comes down a bit behind him and he then takes an easily visible step forward to bring it even with the rest of his body. This step establishes his left foot as his pivot foot and from that point forward, the left foot cannot legally be moved without releasing the ball.

But look at that left foot. Immediately after he completes that right foot move, he then slides his left foot in closer to the center of his body. Admittedly, he doesn't pick the left foot up off the floor, but that slight little side is still technically illegal.

That said, the slide was *so* slight, that it just isn't realistic to expect a referee have noticed it in live action. And even if he did, to actually nullify one of the most dramatic baskets in the history of the game on something so slight? That would be the ultimate "ticky-tack" call.

Admin reply: Wow! That's a great analysis! I could not notice that left foot movement even in slow motion.
I'm putting your arguments and the conclusion to Bedlam3 page (with the reference, of course).
Of course, I will remove you text if you'd like it to be removed. Also, I can update the reference to whatever you want it to look like.


Added: November 17, 2010
Delete this entry Reply to entry View IP address


Comments:
I reviewed the "Referee Magazine" article. Press "Review" on the left frame to read it.

Added: November 12, 2010
Delete this entry Reply to entry View IP address




Comments:
Buster is correct. But feel free to order the magazine and read it for yourself.

Admin reply: As I wrote below, ordering is done, reading and review will follow.


Added: November 5, 2010
Delete this entry Reply to entry View IP address




Comments:
Sorry to bust your bubble but Referee Magazine did a full review of this situation several years ago. Their conclusion was that, despited the apparent injustice, the FIBA rules of 1972 were properly followed for the ending of the game that so many people dispute.

Admin reply: Trying to find that issue of "Referee magazine", but apparently it's too old.
Sorry, but I cannot rely to authoritative opinion here as I can use facts instead.
And, of course, I cannot argue with something like "sometime somewhere someone proved you are wrong".

UPD: Found that issue of "Referee magazine" and ordered.
Will post my review of that review as soon as I receive it.


Added: November 4, 2010
Delete this entry Reply to entry View IP address